Book Review: “South of Superior” by Ellen Airgood

I Rated It:

4starsuppostcard

 

The only two things that I knew about this book before I bought it were that it was set in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula (where I was raised) and it was on the bargain table at Barnes and Noble.  I don’t think that I’ve ever been so pleased with a book that I knew so little about ahead of time.  The town in which it is set (McAllaster) is a fictional town, but I could actually see all of the little U.P. towns that I’ve been to or driven through while reading Airgood’s description.  The plot was very straightforward and not overly exciting.  This was a beautifully written life-like account of a woman who chose to leave the city (Chicago) to explore her small-town roots and spend time with her long lost family.  It was an incredibly enjoyable, quick read that was peaceful and relaxing.  I’m struggling a bit to review this one.  I really don’t have anything particularly special to say about this book, but I loved it.  This is a beautifully written realistic novel about life in a small-town and rediscovering one’s self.

 

One response

  1. I really enjoyed it and am rereading it this summer!

Leave a Reply

